Publications & Products
Volume 4, Issue 6

Announcing U.S. Professors of the Year

An instructor who has built a thriving engineering program at his institution is the 2014 Outstanding Community Colleges Professor of the Year.

John Wadach, professor of engineering science and physics at Monroe Community College in Rochester, New York, was named one of four national winners of the 2014 U.S. Professors of the Year awards. Sponsored by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and administered by CASE, the awards recognize professors for their influence on teaching and commitment to undergraduate students.

In addition to the four national winners, 30 winners were named state Professors of the Year and one winner was recognized from the District of Columbia. Nine of these winners are from community colleges:

  • Arizona: James Sousa, mathematics instructor, Phoenix College (Phoenix, Arizona)
  • Florida: Rosany H. Alvarez, mathematics professor, Miami Dade College (Miami, Florida)
  • Kentucky: Cindy S. Tucker, associate professors of computer and information technologies, Bluegrass Community and Technical College (Lexington, Kentucky)
  • Maryland: KenYatta Rogers, professor of theatre, Montgomery College (Rockville, Maryland)
  • Massachusetts: Beth Mcginnis-Cavanaugh, professor of physics and civil engineering technology, Springfield Technical Community College (Springfield, Massachusetts)
  • Michigan: Cynthia Wade, math professor, St. Clair County Community College (Port Huron, Michigan)
  • Missouri: Andrea Nichols, professor of sociology, St. Louis Community College at Forest Park (St. Louis, Missouri)
  • New York: Cynthia Jones, lecturer in the English Department, Hostos Community College of The City University of New York (Bronx, New York)
  • Texas: Collin Thomas, professor of biology, Collin College (McKinney, Texas)

Visit the U.S. Professors of the Year Awards Program website for more information about how to nominate a deserving professor for next year's award. The nomination period for the 2015 awards program begins Jan. 5, 2015, and ends April 13, 2015.

This article is from the December 2014 issue of the Community College Advancement News.

Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) © 1996 - 2018


Conference for Community College Advancement
Oct. 12 - 14, 2017
Anaheim, CA

Opportunity Knocking: How Community College Presidents Can Lead a New Era of Advancement
Available in print and e-book

All CASE Resources for Community Colleges