Publications & Products
December 2015
Volume 5, Issue 6

Community College Advancement News

District Makes Employee Engagement Fun—and Successful

The key to successful employee engagement—at least for a community college district in California—apparently starts with conga lines. Read more...

Alex Trebek: Future Taft College Student?

Started just two years ago, the West Kern Petroleum Summit (featured in the February 2014 Community College Advancement News), scored quite the coup in 2015: "Jeopardy!" host Alex Trebek served as emcee of the event. Read more...

Volunteer Nominations Due Dec. 18

CASE is seeking nominations for its board of trustees and three advisory commissions: alumni relations, communications and marketing, and philanthropy. The Center for Community College Advancement also seeks nominations for new members.

Nominees should be senior-level advancement leaders who are committed to CASE and strengthening the advancement profession. Candidates must work for a CASE-member institution. Interested individuals should complete and submit the online volunteer leadership form by Dec. 18, 2015.

Go to the Volunteer Opportunities section for nomination information or contact Brett Chambers, vice president of volunteer relations, at or +1-202-478-5649. For information about the Center for Community College Advancement Advisory Committee, contact Paul Heaton at or +1-202-478-5570. Self-nominations are welcome.

Dec. 18 also is the deadline for individuals to volunteer to serve as host coordinator for the 2016 Circle of Excellence Awards. Host coordinators are responsible for recruiting a panel of judges and organizing a judging session. Read more about responsibilities of Circle of Excellence hosts
and complete the 2016 COE Call for Hosts form by Friday, Dec. 18. For more information, contact Melanie Prince at or +1-202-478-5622.

Last Chance to Win Free Conference Registrations

Community colleges have until Jan. 22 to gain a chance to win two free registrations to the 2016 Conference for Community College Advancement, Oct. 5-7, in San Diego. Any college whose president and chief advancement officer both complete a brief survey on their respective attitudes and expectations about fundraising will be eligible. The survey takes less than 10 minutes to complete.

Community College Faculty Honored in D.C.

Amina Khalifa El-Ashmawy, professor of chemistry at Collin College in Texas, was one of four national winners honored Nov. 19 as U.S. Professors of the Year by CASE and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. In addition, seven of the 35 state winners teach at community colleges: Sharon Gusky of Northwestern Connecticut Community College, Joshua Kimber of Broward College, Nevart Tahmazian of Montgomery College, Ana Douglass of Truckee Meadows Community College, Geoffrey Sadock of Bergen Community College, Javier Ávila of Northampton Community College and Craig Thompson of Western Wyoming Community College.

Welcome to CASE

The following institutions recently became CASE members:

  • College of Menominee Nation, Wisconsin
  • Grayson College, Texas
  • Murray State College, Oklahoma

Please share your questions and comments with Marc Westenburg via email at or +1 202 478 5570.

Opt-in to this CASE Newsletter by submitting a ticket to

Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) © 1996 - 2018


Ask questions, share advice and network with CASE community college members on CASE communities.  Recent topics include: