Career Central
CASE Europe Graduate Trainee: Margot Sprague-Davies

Margot Sprague-Davies

Name: Margot Queenie Sprague-Davies

University from which you've graduated:
University of Nottingham with a semester abroad at Sciences Po

Degree subject:
Politics and International Relations

Which societies/sports clubs were you a member of:
At University I was session coordinator and then social secretary for the Yoga society. For a while I was also on a student radio show which was a current affairs discussion panel.

Home town:

Host institution:
University of Oxford

Why did you apply to the graduate trainee scheme?
I knew, around second year, that I want to work in NGOs and began talking to family friends and professionals about what it was like. Someone mentioned fundraising to me and said that it was a fairly new profession in the UK. It sounded exciting to me so I took the idea and ran with it. I did two fundraising internships and became a student caller where I was able to talk to more people in fundraising. Higher education fundraising seemed the best place to learn the trade, with the added benefit of feeling like you're contributing to a movement that makes a difference for students straight away.

What are you hoping to achieve from your year on the scheme?
Oxford has a very large fundraising department, so I hope to be able to take the time to learn about the different departments, which many Universities have, in depth and to get an overview of how the Development Office in Oxford works. Hopefully I will feel able to choose an institution to pursue my career in fundraising with confident in the knowledge of the skills I am best at and the atmosphere or sector that best-suits my work.

What are you career ambitions?
I would still like to work for NGOs and charities, the experience I have gained working as a student caller and during fundraising internships (for Dartmouth Films Ltd. and The Mojatu Foundation), and particularly the people that I have met in the sector, have made me sure that I would like to stay in fundraising for the foreseeable future. I am still feeling really inspired by the CASE conference to stay working in Higher Education.

What are you hobbies/activities outside of study/work?
I practise Ashtanga Yoga regularly and like to visit galleries when I can.

Proudest moment?
Making my way through two evenings of conversation in Italian with someone who spoke no English.

LinkedIn profile: