Career Central
CASE Europe Graduate Trainee: Bronwyn Mauchline

Bronwyn Mauchline

Name: Bronwyn Mauchline

University from which you've graduated:
Southampton Solent University

Degree subject:
I completed my BSc Geography and Marine Studies in the years 2013 - 2016, followed by an International Language Course: Lower Intermediate French in the academic year 2016 - 2017.

Which societies/sports clubs were you a member of:

• Geographical Society: Secretary 2014 - 2015
• Feminist Society: Member 2016 - 2017
• Campaign "Tackling Lad Culture on Campus": Engaged Student 2014 - 2015
• Student Ambassador 2013 - 2016

Home town:
Basingstoke, Hampshire

Host institution:
University of Reading

Why did you apply to the graduate trainee scheme?
I was impressed by the calibre of the institutions that were participating and recognised that my affiliation with CASE Europe and University of Reading could lead to excellent career prospects.
I had undertaken fundraising activities on my own for local and national causes, but had not considered that this could be career path. I had suddenly found a role that fit a profile that I didn't realise I had been looking for.

What are you hoping to achieve from your year on the scheme?
I hope to gain a better understanding of the roles that a development office is comprised of and in addition I will be able to contribute to my institution by raising funds.
I am also looking forward to building a support network that I know will be vital for my subsequent career development. I am ready to gain confidence and excited to learn.

What are you career ambitions?
Eventually, I hope to take a fundraising role within an institution that is a pioneer of environmental science. I am particularly interested in ocean science research or climate change research. I feel that my year on the graduate trainee programme will allow me to gain the skills to ensure that these institutions are supported in continuing their vital work.

What are you hobbies/activities outside of study/work?
I like to challenge myself, particularly over summer breaks. In Summer 2016, I taught myself to swim. I now enjoy spending the evenings utilising my new skill.
I also enjoy being outdoors; I find hiking fun. As a result of this, I plan to climb Snowdon this year.
Additionally, I have been learning French Language alongside my degree studies and am keen to progress to a higher proficiency level.

Proudest moment?
My proudest day to date was Tuesday 12 July 2016 - the day I graduated from my university.
I am also proud of the student safety initiative that I have researched and implemented a plan for in Southampton, Hampshire. It has gained the support of Southampton City Council and both the universities and students' unions and it launches in the new academic year. I am keen to see the impacts of the work, as it has been a year in the making and I am sure of the benefits it will have throughout the city.

LinkedIn profile: