Service Awards in State Government Relations

These awards honor individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the advancement, quality and effectiveness of state relations on behalf of a higher education institution or state system.

The awards are sponsored by CASE, the American Association of State College and Universities, the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities and the American Association of Community Colleges.

Award recipients play an active role in the annual Higher Education Government Relations Conference.

Marvin D. "Swede" Johnson Achievement Award

The nomination period for the 2018 Marvin D. "Swede" Johnson Award begins May 21, 2018 and closes July 27, 2018. 

Recipients of the Swede Johnson award have demonstrated significant career accomplishment through their contributions in institutional/system state relations.

2016 Winner:

Marvin D. "Swede" Johnson Achievement Award

Dene H. Sheheane
Vice President of Government and Community Relations
Georgia Institute of Technology


Edwin Crawford Award for Innovation

The nomination period for the 2018 Edwin Crawford Award begins in May 2018. 

Recipients of the Edwin Crawford award are state relations officers new to the profession (less than 10 years) who have exhibited extensive effort, initiative and innovation in achieving the legislative goals of their institution or system.

2017 Winner:

Edwin Crawford Award for Innovation

Timothy J. Farley
Director of Community and Government Relations
Saint Mary's College of California