Seymour Preston Award

Log in to nominate

The Seymour Preston Award is presented annually to a school trustee who has exhibited exceptional commitment and leadership in developing voluntary support for his or her institution.

This award pays tribute to Seymour Preston, a long-time trustee of the Lawrenceville School and the first recipient of the award.


The deadline for nominations is Friday, September 7, 2018.

Nomination and Selection Process

Nominations are reviewed by judges from independent schools who are currently serving on one of CASE's commissions or board of trustees. Judges may also be former recipients of the Robert Bell Crow Memorial Award. 

Nomination instructions

Please enter through the online system. Include in the nomination package:

  • A nomination letter detailing how the nominee meets the award criteria. (Self-nominations and nominations by students will not be accepted.) Nominating letters should be no longer than two pages.
  • Two letters of support. Supporting letters should be no longer than two pages.

Selection process
Judges review all nominations and vote for their top choices. A final selection call is held to determine winners.

In October, CASE notifies the nominator that his or her candidate has won. A letter from CASE's president is then sent to the recipient. Finally, letters are sent to the nominators of unsuccessful candidates. 

Past Winners

Preston Athey
Nominated by the Hill School

Philip G. McCarthey
Rowland Hall

 Aubrey W. Baillie
The Appleby College Foundation

Sherry Banks-Cohn
Kingswood-Oxford School

Jane and Frank Batten
Culver Academies

Thomas Caputo
Hackley School

Daniel Case
Punahou School

Robert W. Decherd
St. Mark's School of Texas

F. Reed Estabrook Jr.
Avon Old Farms School

Susan Sachs Goldman
Sidwell Friends School

Carolyn Goodman
The Meadows School

William D. Green
Newark Academy

Gordon Gund
Groton School

Elizabeth Heald
Winsor School and Falmouth Academy

James A. Henderson
Culver Academies

Frank Henry
Wyoming Seminary

Anne Jeffrey
Columbus School for Girls

Barbara Jones
Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School

Constance Chadwell Koch
National Cathedral School

Joseph Lindner Jr.
Asheville School

Blair Bartol MacInnes
Far Brook School

Seymour Preston
Lawrenceville School

Scott L. Probasco Jr.
Baylor School

Frances P. Pugh
Ravenscroft School

Dick Snowdon
Langley School

Lewis S. Sommers III
William Penn Charter School

Campbell Steward
Fay School

Eileen Van Houten
The Oakwood School

Raymond John Wean Jr.
Miss Porter's School

Susan Wilen Weingarten
The American School in London

Edward Woll
Meadowbrook School

Judy Carmack York
Latin School of Chicago