Robert Bell Crow Memorial Award

Log in to nominate

The Robert Bell Crow award recognizes independent school advancement professionals for their distinguished service to the profession, their school and CASE. It was named in honor of Robert Bell Crow, a former development director at Deerfield Academy.

Nominees are judged on their professional achievements, their length of service and their involvement in CASE national and/or district activities. To be considered, nominees must have volunteered for CASE (on a committee board or as a conference/workshop speaker, etc.).


The nomination period is now closed. 

Nomination and Selection Process

Nominations are reviewed by judges from independent schools who are currently serving on one of CASE's commissions or board of trustees. Judges may also be former recipients of the Robert Bell Crow Memorial Award. 

Nomination instructions

Please enter through the online system. Include in the nomination package:

  • A nomination letter detailing how the nominee meets the award criteria. (Self-nominations and nominations by students will not be accepted.) Nominating letters should be no longer than two pages.
  • Two letters of support. Supporting letters should be no longer than two pages.

Selection process
Judges review all nominations and vote for their top choices. A final selection call is held to determine winners.

In October, CASE notifies the nominator that his or her candidate has won. A letter from CASE's president is then sent to the recipient. Finally, letters are sent to the nominators of unsuccessful candidates. 

Past Winners

Nathan Follansbee
Mary Kate Barnes
James Pattison
Sherwood C. Haskins, Jr.
Curtis Bagget
Ted Ayres
Edward Baker
John R. Chandler Jr.
Carolyn Christy
Helen A. Colson
Melvin D. Cooper
John Corkran
David Dini
J. Frederick (Terry) Eagle III
Carol Sue Fenoglio
John P. Gannon
Richard P. Goldman
Kathleen Hanson
Margaret Harper
Don Hill
Frank Hogan
Virginia D. Howard
Jeremy Jones
Christopher Latham
Carrie Levenson-Wahl
Suzanne T. Maxwell
Michael Miller
Thomas J. Mulligan
David G. Pond
Tracy Savage
Gwinn Scott
Holly Fowler Semple
Alex Smith
Delores Smith
Herbert P. Soles
James Theisen
Richard O. Walker III
Don Whelan