The John Lippincott Award for Global Advancement and Support of Education

Log in to nominate

The John Lippincott Award for Global Advancement and Support of Education honors an individual at a CASE member institution who has made significant contributions to CASE and to building and growing the advancement profession internationally. The award is named in honor of CASE's longest serving president, John Lippincott, who worked tirelessly and closely with volunteer leadership and staff in developing CASE's global influence and stature as an important priority for the long-term future of the organization.

Nomination and Selection Process

The deadline for nominations is October 15, 2018.

Nomination instructions

In order to be considered, all nominations must be submitted online. Do not send supporting materials such as pictures or news and magazine clippings with your nomination. Each nomination must include the following:

  • A completed online entry form which includes answers (from the nominator) to the following questions. 

How has the nominee been involved with CASE? Examples may include serving as a volunteer leader, conference speaker/faculty, book author, advisory group member, etc.

Provide a specific example of how the nominee has demonstrated leadership at his or her institution 

Describe the nominee's service and resulting impact on the advancement profession internationally. Identify the region(s)/country(ies) where the nominee has served. 

What defining characteristic sets this nominee apart from other individuals who have contributed to increasing the global reach of CASE and advancement?

  • Nominee's professional or related vita
  • Two supporting letters (not from the nominator) endorsing the nomination. Ideally a supporting letter should be no longer than two pages. The support letters should be addressed to:

Awards Subcommittee
1307 New York Avenue NW, Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20005

Examples of letters from previous winners


Nominations are reviewed by the Awards Subcommittee, which is made up of members of the Committee on the Profession of the CASE Board of Trustees.

Selection process

The Awards Subcommittee reviews all nominations and recommends a recipient to the CASE Board's Committee on the Profession. The Committee on the Profession then reviews the selection at the spring CASE Board of Trustees meeting. The full CASE Board approves the winner of the award.


After the board meeting, CASE notifies the nominator who submitted the recipient's nomination materials. A letter from CASE's president is sent to the recipient. Letters are also sent to the nominators of unsuccessful candidates.

Award Presentation

Distinguished Service Awards are presented at CASE's annual Summit for Leaders in Advancement in July.

Past Recipients

2017 Germán Campos Valle
2016 Ellen Sullivan
2015 Lorna Somers