The E. Burr Gibson Lifetime Achievement Award

Log in to nominate

The E. Burr Gibson Lifetime Achievement Award honors individuals who have:

  • Made a significant and lasting impact on the field of institutional advancement through their professional accomplishments,
  • Earned the respect and admiration of their professional colleagues and
  • Served the profession over an extended period of time.

The award will be presented whenever a worthy recipient is identified. This may or may not be an annual occurrence. Recipients may or may not be CASE members.

The E. Burr Gibson Lifetime Achievement Award is supported by a generous contribution from the consulting firm Marts & Lundy. Gibson joined Marts & Lundy in 1964 and was with the firm until his death in 2010. He served as a consultant and was named vice president and treasurer in 1978, president and chief executive officer in 1979, chair and chief executive officer in 1982 and executive chair in 1991. Gibson received the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2008. 

Nomination and Selection Process

The deadline for nominations is October. 15, 2018.

Nomination instructions

In order to be considered, all nominations must be submitted online. Do not send supporting materials such as pictures or news and magazine clippings with your nomination. Each nomination must include the following:

  • A completed online entry form which includes answers (from the nominator instead of a traditional nomination letter) to the following:

Describe the nominee's professional accomplishments.

Describe the length, type and variety of service that the nominee has given to the advancement field?

How has the nominee earned the respect and admiration of his or her professional colleagues?

What defining characteristic sets this nominee apart from other individuals who have made a significant and lasting impact on the advancement field?

  • Nominee's professional or related vita
  • Two supporting letters (not from the nominator) endorsing the nomination. Ideally a supporting letter should be no longer than two pages. The support letters should be addressed to:

Awards Subcommittee
1307 New York Avenue NW, Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20005

Examples of letters from previous winners


Nominations are reviewed by the awards subcommittee, which is made up of members of the Committee on the Profession of the CASE Board of Trustees.

Selection process

The awards subcommittee reviews all nominations and votes to select a recipient. The Committee on the Profession then reviews the selection at the spring CASE Board of Trustees meeting. The board approves the winner of the award.


After the board meeting, CASE notifies the nominator who submitted the winning candidate. A letter from CASE's president is sent to the recipient. Letters are also sent to the nominators of unsuccessful candidates.

Award presentation

Distinguished Service Awards are presented at CASE's annual Summit for Leaders in Advancement in July.

Past Recipients

2017 Susan Washburn
2016 Martha Taylor
2015 John K. Martin
2014 Susan K. Feagin
2013 Susan Kubik
2012 Rita Bornstein
2011 M. Fredric Volkmann
2010 Curt Simic
2009 Warren Heemann
2008 E. Burr Gibson
2007 H. Sargent "Sarge" Whittier Jr.
2006 Robert Forman