Distinguished Friend of Education Award

Log in to nominate

The Distinguished Friend of Education Award honors an individual whose volunteer service has helped to advance education at an educational institution—even though he or she is not a graduate of that institution.  

Nomination and Selection Process

The deadline for nominations is October 15, 2018.

Nomination instructions

In order to be considered, all nominations must be submitted online. Do not send supporting materials such as pictures or news and magazine clippings with your nomination. Each nomination must include the following:

  • A completed online entry form which includes answers (from the nominator instead of a traditional nomination letter) to the following:

In what ways has the nominee served the institution, and for how long?

Describe the impact or benefit that the nominee has had on the institution.

What defining characteristic sets this nominee apart from other individuals who have served your institution or other institutions?

  • Nominee's professional or related vita
  • Two supporting letters (not from the nominator) endorsing the nomination. Ideally a supporting letter should be no longer than two pages. The support letters should be addressed to:

Awards Subcommittee
1307 New York Avenue NW, Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20005

Examples of letters from previous winners 


Nominations are reviewed by the awards subcommittee, which is made up of members of the Committee on the Profession of the CASE Board of Trustees.

Selection process

The awards subcommittee reviews all nominations and votes to select a recipient. The Committee on the Profession then reviews the selection at the spring CASE Board of Trustees meeting. The board approves the winner of the award.


After the board meeting, CASE notifies the nominator who submitted the winning candidate. A letter from CASE's president is sent to the recipient. Letters are also sent to the nominators of unsuccessful candidates.

Award presentation

Distinguished Service Awards are presented at CASE's annual Summit for Leaders in Advancement in July.

Past Winners

2017 Abraham, Mayer and Arlene Mitchell, nominated by University of South Alabama
2016 Dr. Herbert Wertheim, nominated by Florida International University
2015 Pat Sisbarro, nominated by New Mexico State University
2014 Eric Newell, nominated by the University of Alberta
2013 No Winner
2012 Jack and Mary Wheatley, nominated by Brigham Young University
2011 Ian Rolland, nominated by the University of St. Francis (Ind.)
2010 Henry W. Bloch, nominated by the University of Missouri-Kansas City
2009 Carrie and John Morgridge, nominated by the University of Denver
2008 Mary Kay McPhee, nominated by the University of Missouri-Kansas City
2007 Heath Oliver, nominated by Cuyahoga Community College