CASE Europe Leadership Award

Leadership Award Winner Michael Arthur with CASE President and CEO Sue Cunningham The CASE Europe Leadership Award recognises heads, presidents, vice-chancellors, chancellors, principals, rectors/rectrices and other organisational leaders for their outstanding efforts in promoting and supporting education.

  • Nominations are open to outstanding leaders who deserve recognition and who inspire by example
  • The nominated person must belong to a CASE member institution
  • Current CASE Europe Board of Trustees are not eligible for nomination for CASE Europe awards

Nominees for this award must demonstrate the ability to:

  • Actively support advancement in any discipline: Marketing & Communications,Alumni & Supporter Relations,Fundraising and Development.
  • Create a vision and inspire others
  • Establish a positive image for their institution while leading it to higher levels of success
  • Increase their institution's stature in the community
  • Encourage innovation and risk-taking among employees
Nomination Form and Fee

All nominations must come through the online form and submit the nomination fee (£40/€45 per entry). A separate form should be completed for each nomination. Evidence to support the nomination is submitted using the online form. This should include 500 words explaining why the nominee is suitable and three supporting letters endorsing the nomination. The three letters should come from three additional individuals to the person nominating.

Previous winners
Year Winner Position at time of nomination Institution/Organisation
2017 Professor Michael Arthur President & Provost University College London
2016 Tuula Teeri President Aalto University, Finland
2015  Professor Paul Webley CBE Director and Principal SOAS University of London
2014 Professor Dame Shirley Pearce CBE Vice-Chancellor and President Loughborough University, member of the HEFCE Board
2013 Sir Dominic Cadbury Chancellor University of Birmingham
2012 Major Xavier Michel President École Polytechnique
2011 Professor Richard Trainor Principal King's College London
2010 Brett Wigdortz CEO and Founder Teach First
2009 Professor Sir Tim O'Shea Principal and Vice Chancellor University of Edinburgh
2008 Sir Eric Anderson Provost Eton College
2007 Professor Alison Richard Vice-Chancellor University of Cambridge
2006 Gabriel Hawawini Dean INSEAD
2005 Professor Eric Thomas Vice-Chancellor University of Bristol
2004 Professor Marcel Crochet Rector Université Catholique de Louvain
2003 Professor Sir George Bain Vice-Chancellor Queen's University, Belfast
2002 Professor Duncan Rice Vice-Chancellor and Principal

University of Aberdeen