CASE Asia-Pacific Leadership Award

Log in to nominate

The Leadership Award recognizes CASE member institutional heads, presidents, chancellors, system heads or other campus chief executive officers for outstanding efforts in promoting and supporting education and institutional advancement.

Nominees for this award must demonstrate the ability to:

  • Actively support advancement
  • Create a vision and inspire others
  • Establish a positive image for his or her institution while leading it to higher levels of success
  • Increase his or her institution's stature in the community and
  • Encourage innovation and risk-taking among employees.

Nomination and Selection Process

Nomination deadline

The nomination period for the 2018 CASE Asia-Pacific Leadership Award opens on 1 August 2018 and closes on 31 October 2018.

Nomination instructions

In order to be considered, all nominations must be submitted through the online entry system. Do not send supporting materials such as pictures or news and magazine clippings with your nomination. Each nomination must include the following:

  • A nominating letter describing the nominee's qualifications, including information describing the individual's efforts to promote and support education, demonstrate support of the advancement profession, create a vision and inspire others and establish a positive image for the institution. Ideally, a nominating letter should be no longer than three pages.
  • Nominee's professional or related vita
  • Three supporting letters endorsing the nomination. Ideally, a supporting letter should be no longer than two pages.

Examples of letters from previous winners

The nominations for the CASE Asia-Pacific Leadership Award and the CASE Asia-Pacific Distinguished Service Award are mutually exclusive for the same nominee within the same nomination period. Nominators are requested to submit one nomination only for each candidate to ensure an objective deliberation during the judging process by the same selection committee.


CASE Asia-Pacific's nominations are reviewed by an awards selection committee, which is made up of members of the CASE Asia-Pacific Board of Directors and professional from member institutions.

Selection process

After the 31 October 2018 deadline, the awards selection committee reviews all nominations and votes to select a recipient.


CASE Asia-Pacific notifies the nominator who submitted the winning candidate. A letter from CASE's president is sent to the recipient. Letters are also sent to the nominators of unsuccessful candidates.

Award presentation

The award will be presented at the annual CASE Asia-Pacific Advancement Conference in the following year.

Previous CASE Asia Pacific Leadership Award Recipients

2017 Professor Margaret Gardner AO, President and Vice-Chancellor, Monash University

2016 Professor Peter Coaldrake AO, Vice-Chancellor, Queensland University of Technology

2015 Tan Chorh Chuan, President, National University of Singapore

2014 Lap-Chee Tsui, vice-chancellor and president, University of Hong Kong

2013 Glyn Davis, vice-chancellor and principal, University of Melbourne

2012 Julian Whiteley, head of college, United World College of South East Asia

2011 Paul Johnson, vice-chancellor, La Trobe University

2010 Theodore S. Faunce, headmaster, Chinese International School

2009 Paul Thomas, vice-chancellor, University of the Sunshine Coast

2008 Paul Sheahan, Headmaster, Melbourne Grammar School

2007 Shih Choon Fong, President, National University of Singapore

2015 CASE Asia-Pacific Leadership Award Recipient Tan Chorh Chuan

2017 CASE Asia-Pacific Leadership Award Recipient Margaret Gardner

2016 CASE Asia-Pacific Leadership Award Recipient Peter Coaldrake

2015 CASE Asia-Pacific Leadership Award Recipient Tan Chorh Chuan

2014 CASE Asia-Pacific Leadership Award Recipient Lap-Chee Tsui

2013 CASE Asia-Pacific Leadership Award Recipient Glyn Davis