About CASE

Pam Russell
Director of Communications


For Immediate Release
Dec. 5, 2006

Top State Relations Professionals Honored

Two Winners Saluted for Extraordinary Contributions in the Field

Washington, D.C.—A leader in stewarding state government relations at Missouri State University and an innovator in achieving legislative goals for the University System of Maryland are this year’s recipients of the Marvin D. “Swede” Johnson Achievement Award and the Edwin Crawford Award for Innovation, respectively.

The two awards are given annually for leadership in state relations and institutional advocacy. They are the only national awards in higher education state relations, a field that encompasses advocacy and outreach efforts on behalf of colleges and universities to governors, state legislators, and other key policymakers.

The awards are administered by the American Association of Community Colleges, the American Association of State Colleges and Universities, the Council for Advancement and Support of Education, and the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges. The Johnson Award is sponsored by Kintera and the Crawford Award is sponsored by Capitol Impact.

Paul KincaidPaul Kincaid, chief of staff and assistant to the president for university relations and governmental relations at Missouri State University, is the 2006 recipient of the Marvin D. “Swede” Johnson Achievement Award. One of the highlights of his work in state relations was the passage into law of the university’s long-sought name change from Southwest Missouri State University to Missouri State University. Kincaid was instrumental in helping to overcome alumni and legislative opposition, rallying bipartisan support to get the bill passed as part of a 20-year effort.

Michael Nietzel, president of Missouri State University, says Kincaid cultivates sincere, lasting relationships with state leaders.

“And when it comes time to seek support for the issues that advance our higher education system, I’ve seen those same leaders exhibit a genuine trust in Paul, both in word and deed,” says Nietzel.

Joseph BryceJoseph Bryce, associate vice chancellor for governmental relations at the University System of Maryland, is the 2006 recipient of the Edwin Crawford Award for Innovation. As a tireless lobbyist for higher education interests, Bryce has steered the University System of Maryland through many challenging times, uniting a sometimes divided state relations council and building bipartisan legislative support for the university system.

In his letter of recommendation, Clifford Kendall, chair of the University System of Maryland Board of Regents, says Bryce’s ability to explain complex issues facing higher education and his thorough understanding of the legislative and budgetary processes enabled him to reposition the USM in the eyes of state leaders from an area targeted for budget cuts to one specifically singled out for protection from cuts.

“As anyone involved in higher education knows, that constitutes a truly remarkable transformation,” Kendall says.

The winners will receive their awards during the 2006 State Relations Conference Dec. 7-9 at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio in San Antonio, Texas.

The Marvin D. "Swede" Johnson Award, named for the former director of state government relations at the universities of Arizona and New Mexico, comes with a cash prize and a crystal award. The Edwin Crawford Award, named to honor the 40 years of state government relations work by Edwin Crawford, a former director of public affairs and state relations at CASE, Auburn University, the University of Virginia, Ohio State University, and the University of California System, also comes with a cash prize and a crystal award.

About the American Association of Community Colleges
The American Association of Community Colleges represents more than 1,100 associate degree-granting institutions and some 10 million students. Formed in 1920, AACC is a national voice for community colleges, which marked their 100th year of service to the nation in 2001.


About the American Association of State Colleges and Universities
The American Association of State Colleges and Universities represents more than 400 public colleges, universities and systems of higher education throughout the United States and its territories. AASCU schools enroll more than three million students or 55 percent of the enrollment at all public four-year institutions.

About CASE

CASE believes in advancing education to transform lives and society. As a global nonprofit membership association of educational institutions, CASE helps develop the communities of professional practice that build institutional resilience and success in challenging times. The communities include staff engaged in alumni relations, fundraising, marketing, student recruitment, stakeholder engagement, crisis communications and government relations. CASE is volunteer-led and uses the intellectual capital of senior practitioners to build capacity and capability across the world.

CASE has offices in Washington, D.C., London, Singapore and Mexico City. Member institutions include more than 3,700 colleges and universities, primary and secondary independent and international schools, and nonprofit organizations in 82 countries. CASE serves nearly 88,000 practitioners. For more information about CASE, please visit www.case.org.

About the National Association of State Universities
The National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges is the nation's oldest higher education association and includes more than 200 public universities. NASULGC works to support the contributions that state and land-grant universities make to learning, discovery, and engagement.