About CASE

Pam Russell
Senior Director of Communications


For Immediate Release
April 22, 2016

CASE Names 2016 Distinguished Service Award Winners

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The Council for Advancement and Support of Education has announced the 2016 recipients of its Distinguished Service Awards, including the first recipient of the John Lippincott Award for Global Advancement and Support of Education.

The Distinguished Service Awards honor individuals and organizations for extraordinary service in education and the field of educational advancement, which includes alumni relations, fundraising, communications and marketing.

In 2014, the CASE Board of Trustees voted to establish an award in honor of John Lippincott, the association's longest-serving president. The John Lippincott award honors an individual at a CASE member institution who has made significant contributions to CASE and the globalization of the advancement profession.

CASE will recognize five recipients at a luncheon on Monday, July 18, 2016, in conjunction with the CASE Summit for Leaders in Advancement in New York City.

The 2016 CASE Distinguished Service Award winners are:

  • Martha Taylor, recipient of the E. Burr Gibson Lifetime Achievement Award. Taylor serves as vice president of development at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. During her more than 40 years with the institution, Taylor has garnered a number of distinctions. These include being the first woman to serve in a vice president role in fundraising in the Big Ten and one of the longest-serving fundraising executives to serve at a single higher education institution. Other significant accomplishments include co-founding the Women's Philanthropy Council—the first major gift and leadership initiative for women at a co-educational institution—and the National Network of Women as Philanthropists, which later became known as the Women's Philanthropy Institute. An avid volunteer for CASE, Taylor chaired the first three CASE conferences on women's philanthropy and co-authored Reinventing Fundraising: Realizing the Potential of Women's Philanthropy. The E. Burr Gibson Lifetime Achievement Award is supported by a generous contribution from the consulting firm Marts & Lundy. 
  • The Atlantic Philanthropies, recipient of the James. L. Fisher Award for Distinguished Service to Education. Founded by Cornell University graduate Chuck Feeney, the Atlantic Philanthropies has given away $7 billion in grants to "advance opportunity and promote equity and dignity" during the past 30 years. Its first grant went to establish a scholarship program at Cornell University that today has benefitted more than 5,300 students. The foundation has also provided generous support to other U.S. institutions, including the University of California at San Francisco which received a $290 million gift from the foundation to create the Mission Bay campus, a hub of world-class medical training and research. Beyond the United States, the foundation has directed hundreds of millions of dollars toward education in Northern Ireland, the Republic of Ireland, Australia, Vietnam and South Africa.
  • Lorna Somers, recipient of the John Lippincott Award for Global Advancement and Support of Education. Somers is vice president of the McMaster University Foundation and director of development of McMaster University. She has worked in university advancement since 1988 and has been an active member of CASE for nearly 20 years. Throughout her career, Somers has shared her fundraising expertise by volunteering as a faculty member at conferences across four continents and serving as a trustee on the CASE board, chair of its international committee and as a member of the CASE Commission on Philanthropy. She has also played a key role in building a culture of philanthropy in Africa where she has worked with academics and fundraisers to lead onsite workshops and sessions on university leadership. A recipient of the CASE Crystal Apple award for excellence in teaching, Somers also received the prestigious Frank Ashmore Award for Outstanding Service to CASE in 2011.
  • Norma Walker, recipient of the Frank L. Ashmore Award for Service to CASE and the Advancement Profession. Walker currently serves as vice president of advancement resources at CASE. Under her stewardship, CASE has significantly expanded the scope of its conferences and webinars, awards programs and affiliated student advancement program. In addition to guiding the growth of these and other CASE programs and services, Walker encouraged and stewarded hundreds of CASE members to become volunteers. Specifically, during her 34 years with CASE, Walker has overseen a conference program that has attracted more than 200,000 attendees taught by 20,000 practitioners in every type of institution. Walker will retire in July.
  • Herbert Wertheim, recipient of the Distinguished Friend of Education Award. Wertheim, who is founder and president of Brain Power Inc., has been an active volunteer and leading supporter of Florida International University for nearly 30 years. From 1988 to 2001, he served as chair of the board of directors and as a board member of the FIU Foundation. In addition to overseeing a successful $200 million capital campaign and other volunteer service, Wertheim has supported the institution during the years through generous gifts. These include funding for the Wertheim Conservatory and Lecture Hall to study tropical plans and photosynthesis, a visiting lecture series to attract distinguished guests and experts in entrepreneurship and the Herbert and Nicole Wertheim Performing Arts Center to showcase local performances and events.
  • John and Mary Brock, recipient of the Ernest T. Stewart Award for Alumni Volunteer Involvement. Mary Rockett Brock and John F. Brock III have traveled the world together to advance philanthropic support for the Georgia Institute of Technology and the community of Atlanta. They served as co-chairs of the institute's most successful capital campaign—Campaign Georgia Tech—which raised more than $1.8 billion when it concluded in December 2015. During the course of the campaign, more than 20 buildings and campus features were funded in full or in part through philanthropy. In May, Mary and John Brock will receive honorary doctoral degrees from Georgia Tech. The Brock's philanthropy also extends to other Atlanta institutions, such as Spelman College and the health sciences at Emory University. John Brock is a graduate of the Georgia Institute of Technology and is the chair and chief executive officer of Coca-Cola. Mary Brock serves on the board of trustees for Spelman College.

About CASE

CASE believes in advancing education to transform lives and society. As a global nonprofit membership association of educational institutions, CASE helps develop the communities of professional practice that build institutional resilience and success in challenging times. The communities include staff engaged in alumni relations, fundraising, marketing, student recruitment, stakeholder engagement, crisis communications and government relations. CASE is volunteer-led and uses the intellectual capital of senior practitioners to build capacity and capability across the world.

CASE has offices in Washington, D.C., London, Singapore and Mexico City. Member institutions include more than 3,700 colleges and universities, primary and secondary independent and international schools, and nonprofit organizations in 82 countries. CASE serves nearly 88,000 practitioners. For more information about CASE, please visit www.case.org.