About CASE

Pam Russell
director of communications


For Immediate Release
Sept. 1, 2011

CASE Appoints Senior Leaders of Educational Institutions to Three Commissions

WASHINGTON, D.C.-The Council for Advancement and Support of Education has appointed 21 new members to its professional commissions on alumni relations, communications and marketing, and philanthropy. CASE also appointed new chairs of its alumni relations and communications and marketing commissions.

Each commission—the Commission on Alumni Relations, the Commission on Communications and Marketing, and the Commission on Philanthropy—has 17 members. The new commissioners, who will serve a three-year term, are as follows:

Commission on Alumni Relations

  • Newly elected chair-Gary Olsen, associate vice president for alumni relations and executive director, alumni association, Villanova University
  • Tyler Bowen, director of alumni relations, Southwest Minnesota State University
  • Todd McCubbin, executive director, Mizzou Alumni Association, University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Adrienne Rulnick, associate vice president for alumni relations and development, George Washington University
  • Beverly Sandeen, vice chancellor, university relations, University of California, Davis
  • Antonia Yeung, director of alumni relations, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Commission on Communications and Marketing

  • Newly elected chair-Lisa Lapin, assistant vice president for university communications, Stanford University
  • Susannah Baker, communications director, corporate affairs, Oxford Brookes University
  • Carlos Barroso, director of marketing and communications, Saint Andrew's School
  • Teresa Flannery, vice president of communications, American University
  • Carri Jenkins, assistant to the president for university communications, Brigham Young University
  • Michael Redding, vice president of university relations, University of Oregon
  • Steve Reed, director of public information, Cottey College
  • Heather Sullivan, former director of communications and marketing, Northfield Mount Hermon School
  • Tracy Syler-Jones, vice chancellor for marketing and communications, Texas Christian University
  • Diane Weathers, senior vice president for advancement and communications, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey

Commission on Philanthropy

  • Corinne Degoutte, executive director, Fondation ParisTech
  • Dino Hernandez, assistant vice president for advancement and executive director of the campaign, Lawrence Technological University
  • Mary Rutherford, director of corporate and foundation relations, Boise State University
  • David Shepherd, director of college advancement, United World College of Southeast Asia
  • Peter Smits, vice president for university advancement, California State University, Fresno
  • John Taylor, associate vice chancellor for advancement services, North Carolina State University
  • Jennifer Goodloe Wade, vice president for development, Rhodes College

About CASE

CASE believes in advancing education to transform lives and society. As a global nonprofit membership association of educational institutions, CASE helps develop the communities of professional practice that build institutional resilience and success in challenging times. The communities include staff engaged in alumni relations, fundraising, marketing, student recruitment, stakeholder engagement, crisis communications and government relations. CASE is volunteer-led and uses the intellectual capital of senior practitioners to build capacity and capability across the world.

CASE has offices in Washington, D.C., London, Singapore and Mexico City. Member institutions include more than 3,700 colleges and universities, primary and secondary independent and international schools, and nonprofit organizations in 82 countries. CASE serves nearly 88,000 practitioners. For more information about CASE, please visit www.case.org.