About CASE

Pam Russell
Senior Director of Communications


For Immediate Release
Jan. 28, 2016

CASE Announces 2016 Independent Schools Award Recipients

NEW YORK—The Council for Advancement and Support of Education has announced the recipients of its 2016 Independent Schools Awards.

CASE will recognize three individuals and one foundation for their commitment and service to independent school education at the 46th annual CASE NAIS Independent Schools Conference, which takes place Jan. 31-Feb. 2 in New York City.

The 2016 award winners are:

James PattisonJames Pattison, recipient of the Robert Bell Crow Memorial Award, which recognizes advancement professionals for dedication to the profession, their institutions and CASE.

Pattison is senior advancement officer and director of major gifts at Harvard-Westlake School in Los Angeles. During his 20-year tenure at Harvard-Westlake, Pattison has played a key role in building a successful advancement program at the school—directing the advancement office management and operations of the school.

Under his stewardship, the school has raised more than $300 million and completed a five-year, $175 million campaign—one of the largest by an independent school. Noted as a "faithful steward" by his colleagues, Pattison also serves as active counsel to all of his colleagues and has helped grow annual giving to more than $7 million. Dedicated to CASE and its mission to advance educational programs nationwide, Pattison chaired the 2011 CASE NAIS Independent Schools Conference and is a key volunteer of the association.

The F.M. Kirby Foundation, recipient of the John R. Chandler Award, which recognizes the long-term support of a corporation or foundation toward the advancement of independent schools.

Since its inception in 1931, the family-oriented foundation has committed itself to fostering strong, healthy education communities across the country—through financial as well as volunteer support.

The foundation has provided millions of dollars in funding to numerous independent schools while also cultivating decades-long relationships with many of these institutions. Specifically, the foundation has provided significant financial support as well as personal support and guidance to three independent schools in New Jersey: Newark Academy, Gill St. Bernard's School and The Lawrenceville School.

The F.M. Kirby Foundation also has provided support to the Browning School, Durham Academy, Dwight School, Hackley School, Greens Farms Academy, Greensboro Day School, Nightingale-Bamford School, the Peck School, St. Hilda's & St. Hugh's School, Wyoming Seminary and many more.

Philip G. McCartheyPhilip G. McCarthey, recipient of the Seymour Preston Award, which honors a trustee who has provided valuable, influential leadership to an educational institution.

McCarthey is the longest-serving board member of Rowland Hall, an independent day school in Salt Lake City, Utah. He has served as board vice chair since 2007. McCarthey's strong financial support of the school resulted in the completion of a new campus named in his honor. School leaders say he is "exceptional in every way" and specifically note his commitment to helping Rowland Hall maintain strong enrollment during the great recession.

McCarthey also significantly increased the school's visibility and reputation through the McCarthey Foundation's Lecture Series In Praise of Independent Journalism. This widely recognized lecture series, held on the school's McCarthey campus, has attracted many notable speakers, including former journalist Helen Thomas, television personality Anderson Cooper and former United States Secretary of State Madeleine Albright.

Debbie YoungbloodDebbie Youngblood, recipient of the Support Staff Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes a support staff member for providing long-term service to a school's advancement team.

Youngblood has served as advancement associate at the Meadows School in Las Vegas, Nevada, for 18 years. Throughout this time, Youngblood has had an immeasurable impact on the school, according to colleagues, who note her skills in networking, planning and fundraising. In addition to managing the school's successful Fall Festival, Youngblood develops strong relationships with students, faculty, families and donors while working to create an inviting, friendly atmosphere at the Meadows School.

In nominating Youngblood, Head of School Jeremy Gregersen noted that it's not always the person near the top of the organizational chart who has the greatest impact on an institution. He and many other colleagues say Youngblood's impact on the school has been invaluable.

About CASE

CASE believes in advancing education to transform lives and society. As a global nonprofit membership association of educational institutions, CASE helps develop the communities of professional practice that build institutional resilience and success in challenging times. The communities include staff engaged in alumni relations, fundraising, marketing, student recruitment, stakeholder engagement, crisis communications and government relations. CASE is volunteer-led and uses the intellectual capital of senior practitioners to build capacity and capability across the world.

CASE has offices in Washington, D.C., London, Singapore and Mexico City. Member institutions include more than 3,700 colleges and universities, primary and secondary independent and international schools, and nonprofit organizations in 82 countries. CASE serves nearly 88,000 practitioners. For more information about CASE, please visit www.case.org.