About CASE

Pam Russell
Senior Director of Communications


For Immediate Release
Oct. 3, 2015

2015 U.S. Professors of the Year Selected

Celebrations to Honor Outstanding Teaching, 35 Years of Prestigious Program

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The 2015 national and state winners of the U.S. Professors of the Year awards program have been selected by three expert judging panels comprised of deans, professors and other experts in the field of undergraduate teaching.

The awards program is administered by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE), with leading sponsorship from the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.

Winners will be announced Nov. 19, 2015, during celebrations in Washington, D.C., that will also mark the 35th annual U.S. Professors of the Year awards program, the only national program to honor excellence in undergraduate teaching and mentoring.

An awards luncheon at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center will honor the 2015 winners and also recognize the more than 1,200 instructors who have been named outstanding national or state Professors of the Year since the launch of the program in 1981. An evening congressional reception, sponsored by Phi Beta Kappa, will also highlight the achievements of instructors who excel at undergraduate teaching.

Following the celebrations in D.C., the program will be placed on hiatus as the future of the program is determined under a recently launched year-long strategic planning process by CASE. Given the hiatus, there will not be a call for nominations in January 2016.

In late 2014, the Carnegie Foundation decided—while remaining supportive of the goals of the awards program—to focus its resources on new initiatives. With this decision and the launch of CASE's strategic planning process, leaders at CASE have decided to review the U.S. Professors of the Year Awards Program--its mission, vision and how it advances CASE's strategic goals and direction as a global organization.

"The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching has been a steadfast supporter of and partner in the U.S. Professors of the Year Awards Program for nearly 35 years," said CASE President Sue Cunningham. "Together, CASE and Carnegie have recognized more than 1,200 remarkable undergraduate teachers nationwide-at public and private, two- and four-year institutions."

"The Carnegie Foundation is proud to have been involved in the U.S. Professors of the Year Program from the very beginning," said Tony Bryk, president of Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. "Formal recognition of the extraordinary teaching that happens in higher education is rare, and we are pleased to have been part of this singular effort to do so."

About CASE

CASE believes in advancing education to transform lives and society. As a global nonprofit membership association of educational institutions, CASE helps develop the communities of professional practice that build institutional resilience and success in challenging times. The communities include staff engaged in alumni relations, fundraising, marketing, student recruitment, stakeholder engagement, crisis communications and government relations. CASE is volunteer-led and uses the intellectual capital of senior practitioners to build capacity and capability across the world.

CASE has offices in Washington, D.C., London, Singapore and Mexico City. Member institutions include more than 3,700 colleges and universities, primary and secondary independent and international schools, and nonprofit organizations in 82 countries. CASE serves nearly 88,000 practitioners. For more information about CASE, please visit www.case.org.