Ian Porter Tacquard—Alumni Relations and Special Events Manager
St. Margaret’s Episcopal School—San Juan Capistrano, Calif.
United States
Award Programs
Service Awards in State Government Relations

These awards honor individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the advancement, quality and effectiveness of state relations on behalf of a higher education institution or state system.

The awards are sponsored by CASE, the American Association of State College and Universities, the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities and the American Association of Community Colleges.

Award recipients play an active role in the annual Higher Education Government Relations Conference.

To nominate for the Marvin D. "Swede" Johnson Achievement Award, click here and then click "nominate"

To nominate for the Edwin Crawford Award for Innovation, click here and then click "nominate"

If you have already begun an award nomination, and would like to continue a saved entry, click here and then click "nominate"

The 2014 State Government Relations Awards deadline has been extended to August 1, 2014.

Marvin D. "Swede" Johnson Achievement Award

Recipients of the Swede Johnson award have demonstrated significant career accomplishment through their contributions in institutional/system state relations.

Ron Withem2013 Winner:
Ron Withem
Senior associate vice president and director of governmental relations
University of Nebraska


Edwin Crawford Award for Innovation

Recipients of the Edwin Crawford award are state relations officers new to the profession (less than 10 years) who have exhibited extensive effort, initiative and innovation in achieving the legislative goals of their institution or system.

Bridget Burns2013 Winner:
Bridget Burns
Chief of staff 
Oregon University System


Help/Create Account